O'Brien Bookseller of the Year Award

Congratulations to Amy Devereux from The Book Centre, Wexford, winner of Bookseller of the Year 2023.

Amy Devereux, 2023 Bookseller of the Year

The judge's citation reads:

Always warm and welcoming, she shares her vast knowledge and insight freely.

She is at home wherever books are, whether on the shop floor talking to a single customer, running a busy event, buying books for the group or building interest in reading online.

Her passion and enthusiasm are focussed on nurturing the young readers of Wexford and beyond.

Who is eligible for Bookseller of the Year?

Any Bookseller who:

  • Operates on the island of Ireland    
  • Works in, manages or owns a bookselling business     
  • Has a minimum of three years’ experience as a bookseller in Ireland (not necessarily with the same company)


The winner of the 2023 award was decided by the following jury: 

  • Laura Fitzgerald, Gill Books
  • Sarah Hunt, Argosy Books
  • Eamonn Phelan, Gill Hess
  • Ivan O’Brien, The O’Brien Press


The O'Brien Bookseller of the Year Award has been presented annually since 1995 in recognition of outstanding achievement or an invaluable contribution to the book trade by an individual bookseller.

The winner's name is added to The Elements, a bronze perpetual trophy sculpted by Rowan Gillespie, one of Ireland's leading sculptors. The winner keeps the award for the year, and also receives a framed commemorative certificate.

BooksellerAward - BOTY-award

The full rollcall of winners is:

  • 1995 Fred Hanna, Fred Hanna Booksellers
  • 1996 Sally Mimnagh, Eason & Son, O'Connell St.
  • 1997 Helen Clear and Gemma Barry, Dubray Books
  • 1998 Frank and David O'Mahony, O'Mahony's Booksellers
  • 1999 Fergal and Irene Stanley, Argosy Libraries
  • 2000 John McNamee, Laois Educational Supplies
  • 2001 Tom Owens, Eason & Son Ltd
  • 2002 Joe Collins, Hodges Figgis
  • 2003 Robert Redmond, The Open Book Company
  • 2004 Dervilla Evans, The Ennis Bookshop
  • 2005 Liz Meldon, Dundrum Books
  • 2006 Siobhán Tierney, Hughes & Hughes Booksellers
  • 2007 Eoin McHugh, Eason Wholesale
  • 2008 Mary Healy, Argosy Books
  • 2009 David O'Callaghan, Eason & Son Ltd
  • 2010 John Cotter, The Book Centre, Waterford
  • 2011 Gina O'Donnell, Hodges Figgis
  • 2012 Lynn Crampton, Dubray Grafton Street
  • 2013 Ronan Richmond, Argosy Books
  • 2014 John Treacy, International Education Services
  • 2015 Susan Walsh, Dubray Books
  • 2016 Bob Johnston, The Gutter Bookshop
  • 2017 Maria Dickenson, Dubray
  • 2018 Liz Walsh, Stone House Books
  • 2019 Caitríona Bennett, Argosy Books
  • 2020 Antonia Daly, Antonia's Bookstore, Trim
  • 2021 Louisa Cameron, Raven Books
  • 2022 Alan Johnston, Bookstation
  • 2023 Amy Devereux, The Book Centre, Wexford